You may be trying to access this site from a secured browser on the server. Please enable scripts and reload this page.
Turn on more accessible mode
Turn off more accessible mode
Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Turn off Animations
Turn on Animations
Kane County State's Attorney's Office Branch Locations
Child Support Division
Crimes Against Children
Kane County Collaborative Diversion
Public Documents and Records
Seniors and People with Disabilities
Order of Protection
Illinois law ensures that crime victims are treated with fairness and respect for their dignity and privacy throughout the criminal justice process.
The Victim Services Unit of the Kane County State's Attorney's Office provides information and support throughout the criminal justice process. Victim advocates provide information and connections to outside agencies that assist specific victim needs such as domestic violence shelters, sexual assault crisis centers, senior services, police departments and hospitals. They also help you to complete necessary forms for restitution and the Attorney General's Office's Crime Victims Compensation Application.
If you are the victim of a violent crime and charges have been filed, you should expect to be contacted by a victim advocate from our office. We will do our best to contact you within four weeks of the filing of felony charges. If you are not contacted within four weeks, please call our office at (630) 232-3500.
Homicide Support Group
For more than 25 years, the Kane County State's Attorney's Office has hosted a homicide support group for adult family members that have tragically lost loved ones due to homicide. The group is facilitated by a licensed clinical psychologist and a staff member from the State's Attorney's Office.
For more information and to register, visit our
Homicide Support Group signup form.
Marsy's Law for Illinois Crime Victims grants rights to crime victims, including the right to certain information about the proceeding. The law applies to:
People who were injured because of a violent crime or attempted violent crime resulting in felony charges and some misdemeanor charges, including family members of homicide victims or violent crime victims who are physically or mentally unable to exercise their rights.
However, you must assert these rights for them to apply to you. If you are eligible to receive the services covered by this law, you will receive a letter from our office within two to four weeks of the filing of felony charges. The letter will contain a checklist of the available services. You must complete the form and return it within 14 days of the date on the letter to receive these services. The form will be placed in the court file so all parties -- the judge, the prosecution, and the defense -- are aware that you wish to assert these rights.
If you have access to the Internet, you may check court dates on the Kane County Circuit Court Clerk's Website,
to stay apprised of all court proceedings. If the defendant is in jail or prison, you may register to be notified of any change in custody status at
or by calling 1-800-566-8439.
Victims' input during a case is important and appreciated. To ensure that we are able to communicate with victims for the duration of a case, it is important that victims immediately notify us if their contact information changes so that we can update our records.
Office hours are 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday, except court holidays. For information, call (630) 232-3500.
Orders of Protection
Victims of certain violent crimes that have been charged might be able to apply for additional protective orders from the court.
Orders of Protection
-- Must be a qualifying domestic or household relationship between the victim and the offender.
Stalking No Contact Order
-- Must not be a domestic or household relationship between victim and offender and there must be at least two incidents between victim and offender.
Civil No Contact Order
-- For sex-based offenses. There does not have to be a qualifying domestic or household relationship between the victim and the offender.
Please call our office at (630) 232-3500 to discuss which type of protective order would be best for you, as well as safety plan options. Please note that the preparation of protective orders can take up to three hours to complete.
Kane County Judicial Center
37W777 Route 38
Suite 300 (third floor)
St. Charles, Ill. 60175
Free childcare, located in the lower level, is available most weekdays.
All Kane County court locations are open 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. weekends; closed weekends and court holidays.
If the case has not been charged, please go to the Kane County Judicial Center, Room 149, and a legal advocate will be able to assist you in the preparation of a protective order.
Kane County State's Attorney's Office
37W777 Route 38 Suite 300
St. Charles, IL 60175-7535
© Kane County Illinois, Government Website
Phone: (630) 232-3500
Fax: (630) 232-6508
Office Hours: 8:30am - 4:30pm
closed weekends and all court holidays
Legal Policies & Disclaimers